Shaper Studios and Vissla are once again making history with the 4th Annual Self Shape Surf Festival. This year is lining up to be more fun than last year... if that's even possible. All participants will take part in a contest where every surfer is riding their own hand-shaped surfboard.  

SHAPER SELF SHAPE SURF FESTIVAL

PRESENTED BY VISSLA

OFFICIAL MEDIA PARTNER THE INERTIA

Shaper Studios & Vissla are gearing up for the 4th Annual Self Shape Surf Festival on Saturday, April 29, 2017. The world's first surf contest where every competitor is riding their own handmade surfboard. The first of these historic events took place in 2014 in La Jolla, California. For those of you who couldn't make it last year, we've put together a short edit from last year to re-tell the story.

OFFICIAL SUSTAINABILITY PARTNER ENTROPY RESINS & MIZU

OFFICIAL HOSPITALITY PARTNER SURFHOUSE ADVENTURES

SELF SHAPE SURF FESTIVAL 2016 VIDEO

-------------------------------------------------------

SURFING COMPETITION [7AM-4PM]

JUNIORS

MENS OPEN

MENS LOG OPEN

WOMENS OPEN

MENS INVIATIONAL

MENS LOG INVITATIONAL

WOMENS LOG INVITATIONAL

FISH & BEER GARDEN [12-7PM]

FISH 101 will be serving up fish tacos and poke bowls. Grab a pint of some of San Diego's best craft brews from both FALL BREWING and DUCKFOOT BREWING. 

LIVE MUSIC STAGE [4-7PM]

Our favorite band in San Diego, THE GLOOMIES, are headlining this year's festival with a sunset set on the sand. 2017 San Diego Music Award winners, THE VERIGOLDS, will be opening up the live stage at 4:00 PM. We will be concluding the festival with a set by San Clemente based band, THE PESOS, which you will not want to miss!

INVITATIONAL DIVISIONS

  • MENS INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only.
    • Alrik Yuill / @spacetimesurfboards
    • Andrew Doheny / @andrew_doheny
    • Andrew Jacobson / @andrewjacobson
    • Brooks Sterling / @brookssterling
    • Cam Richards / @camrichards
    • Chase Wilson / @mysterbyrd
    • Derrick Disney / @gado_gadoo
    • Donald Brink / @donaldbrink
    • Kamalei Alexander / @kamaleialexander
    • Lucas Dirkse / @lurchas
    • Nathan Strom / @nathanstrom_
    • Ryan Miller / @da_millman
  • MENS LOG INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only.
    • Kameron Brown / @kameronbrown
    • Koby Gilchrist / @kobygilchrist
    • Eric Hoaglund III / @surfboards_by_eric
    • Grant Noble / @grantnoble_
    • Marc Oliver / @iammarcoliver
    • Nick Melanson / @nickmelanson
    • Nico Espinosa / @nicoespi
    • Reid Lingenfelter / @reid_lyle
    • Tanner Prairie / @tannersurfboards
    • Taylor Dunfee / @tsdivision
    • Tyler Warren / @tyler_warren
  • WOMENS LOG INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only. 
    • Christine Brailsford / @furrowsurfcraft
    • Erin Worm Ashley / @wormtown
    • Jen Smith / @jensmithofaloha
    • Karina Rozunko / @karinarozunko
    • Kiana Fores / @kiana4s
    • Leah Dawson / @leahloves
    • Makala Smith / @shredsista
    • Mele Saili / @mele_saili
    • Tara Franz / @tara_franz

OPEN DIVISIONS

  • MENS OPEN: This division is for male surfers / age 18+ / any skill level / any self shape surfboard.
  • MENS LONGBOARD OPEN: This division is for male surfers / all ages / any skill level / 9ft. plus
  • WOMENS OPEN: This division is for female surfers / all ages / any skill level / any self shape surfboard.
  • JUNIORS OPEN: This division is for male surfers / under age 18 / any skill level / any self shape surfboard.

RULES

Must ride a board that you shaped yourself. If you shaped it with someone, you must have completed at least 50% of the work. *You do not have to glass your own board but that's always encouraged. *Your self shape does not have to be from Shaper Studios.

JUDGING

Each heat will be scored on the surfer's top 2 waves for a total heat score. Alternative equipment is highly encouraged and judges are well versed in scoring single fins, fishes, mini simmons, logs, as well as performance shortboards. Ride whatever you want and have fun out there on an uncrowded peak.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

LOCATION: SEASIDE REEF (ENCINITAS, CA)
DATE: SATURDAY, APRIL 29

SELF SHAPE SURF CONTEST PRESENTED BY VISSLA 
CHECK IN : 6:00 AM
FIRST HEAT: 7:00 AM
SEMI-FINALS: 12:00 PM
FINALS : 1:00 - 4:00 PM
AWARDS: 5:00 PM

FISH & BEER GARDEN 12:00 - 7:00 PM
FALL BREWING
DUCKFOOT
FISH 101

SHAPER SOUND STAGE 4:00 - 7:30 PM
THE VERIGOLDS: 4:00 PM

THE GLOOMIES: 5:30 PM

THE PESOS: 6:30 PM