Shaper Studios and VANS are once again making history with the 5th Annual Shaper Festival Of Surfing. This year is lining up to be more fun than last year... if that's even possible. All participants will take part in a self shape surf contest where every surfer is riding their own hand-shaped surfboard.  

SHAPER FESTIVAL OF SURFING PRESENTED BY VANS

OFFICIAL MEDIA PARTNER THE INERTIA

Shaper Studios & Vans are gearing up for the 5th Annual Shaper Festival of Surfing on Saturday, May 12, 2018. The world's first surf contest where every competitor is riding their own handmade surfboard. The first of these historic events took place in 2014 in La Jolla, California. For those of you who couldn't make it last year, we've put together a short edit from last year to re-tell the story.

 

OFFICIAL SUSTAINABILITY PARTNER MIZU

SELF SHAPE SURF FESTIVAL 2016 VIDEO

-------------------------------------------------------

SURFING COMPETITION [7AM-4PM]

OPEN ALTERNATIVE

OPEN LOGGER

MENS INVIATIONAL

MENS LOG INVITATIONAL

WOMENS LOG INVITATIONAL

BURGERS & BEER GARDEN [11-7PM]

SHAKE SHACK will be serving up burgers and fries. Grab a pint of some of San Diego's best craft brews from both THORN BEER and DUCKFOOT BREWING. 

LIVE MUSIC STAGE [11-7PM]

Our favorite bands are back on the stage for an amazing lineup of music.

INVITATIONAL DIVISIONS

  • MENS INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only.
    • Andrew Doheny / @andrew_doheny
    • Chase Wilson / @mysterbyrd
    • Derrick Disney / @gado_gadoo
    • Donald Brink / @donaldbrink
    • Josh Kerr / @josh_ker84
    • Lucas Dirkse / @lurchas
    • Nathan Strom / @nathanstrom_
    • Ryan Miller / @da_millman
  • MENS LOG INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only.
    • Alex Knost / @knostthankyou
    • Kameron Brown / @kameronbrown
    • Koby Gilchrist / @kobygilchrist
    • Grant Noble / @grantnoble_
    • Nico Espinosa / @nicoespi
    • Tyler Warren / @tyler_warren
  • WOMENS LOG INVITATIONAL: This division is invitation only. 
    • Erin Worm Ashley / @wormtown
    • Jen Smith / @jensmithofaloha
    • Karina Rozunko / @karinarozunko
    • Leah Dawson / @leahloves
    • Makala Smith / @shredsista
    • Mele Saili / @mele_saili
    • Tara Franz / @tara_franz

OPEN DIVISIONS

  • OPEN ALTERNATIVE: This division is for male or female surfers / all ages / any skill level / any self shape surfboard.
  • OPEN LOGGER: This division is for male or female surfers / all ages / any skill level / 9ft. plus

RULES

Must ride a board that you shaped yourself. If you shaped it with someone, you must have completed at least 50% of the work. *You do not have to glass your own board but that's always encouraged. *Your self shape does not have to be from Shaper Studios.

JUDGING

Each heat will be scored on the surfer's top 2 waves for a total heat score. Alternative equipment is highly encouraged and judges are well versed in scoring single fins, fishes, mini simmons, logs, as well as performance shortboards. Ride whatever you want and have fun out there on an uncrowded peak.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

LOCATION: SEASIDE REEF (ENCINITAS, CA)
DATE: SATURDAY, MAY 12

SELF SHAPE SURF CONTEST PRESENTED BY VANS 
CHECK IN : 6:00 AM
FIRST HEAT: 7:00 AM
SEMI-FINALS: 12:00 PM
FINALS : 1:00 - 4:00 PM
AWARDS: 5:00 PM

BURGERS & BEER GARDEN 12:00 - 7:00 PM
THORN BEER
DUCKFOOT
SHAKE SHACK

SHAPER SOUND STAGE 4:00 - 7:30 PM
TBA: 4:00 PM

TBA: 5:30 PM

TBA: 6:30 PM